When Love was Easy

August 6, 2012

Love was easy in the days
When adolescence barely crested the hill
Into adult.
The sunrise was giddy
The sunset was fire
And all we knew and all we cared to know
Was the landscape of each other.

Shuttles and war exploded
And bills and obligations
Obscured our view and
Love wasn’t so easy to find
When wallets were empty.

But now I look back and
Oh, the love wasted in worry
Unseen for all the bulk rate mail
And unopened letters!
Where was I?
Where were you?

You were there
As was I, although I didn’t always know it
And love was always
Just as easy as your warm embrace
Your julipped drawl
And the brilliance of your crystal eyes.

2 Responses to “When Love was Easy”

  1. Mickey Mills Says:

    I love your love! :-*


  2. Very romantic, and poignant. It all leads back to the gratitude thing, again. (at least, that was my thought) I’m so happy for you, Debi. Keep enjoying life. :)

Leave a Reply

