Madly in Love with Fiction

December 1, 2009

I just finished the first edit of my young adult fantasy novel, The Glendale Witch, and I can say with complete honesty that I love it with all of my heart.  As I worked my way through the last few chapters of edits, culling out unnecessary “thats” and “hads”, and mercilessly slaughtering anything that smacked of passive, I got so caught up in the story that I was inwardly cheering my protagonists on.  “Kiss the girl!”  “Slay the monsters!”  “Kiss the girl again!”  I was actually anxious to see how it turned out, as if I didn’t already know – as if these characters hadn’t sprung from my own imagination and set out on a glorious quest of my own planning.

And when I reached the end of the manuscript, I felt very much like I did the day in October when I finished the rough draft and typed those marvelous yet lonely words, “The End”.  I miss my fictional kids already.  I love them.  I don’t want to leave them.

I have huge hopes for this book.  I am passionate about it in a way I haven’t felt since my own child was small and everything he did sent me running for a camera and a telephone so I could tell everyone just how marvelous he was.

I’ve been told all of my life to do what I love, but I don’t think I ever found that path until now.  I love this manuscript.  I burn with hope and passion.  If I never write another thing in my life, I think it will be enough for me to know that I wrote The Glendale Witch.

I’m absolutely besotted with it.  What an incredible feeling!  The next task is to convince a publisher to love it as much as I do…

2 Responses to “Madly in Love with Fiction”

  1. Oscar Windsor-Smith Says:

    With that much love and passion, you deserve to succeed, Deb. And I’m sure you will. Your honesty and enthusiasm shine through even in your posts here. Be lucky, lady. Best for 2010.

    😉 scar

    BTW, I found you here from your comment today on Every Day Fiction.

  2. janet Says:

    I can’t wait to read it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

