Reaffirming that whole “Ink for Blood” thing

January 29, 2010

I’ve been writing so much lately that it seems appropriate to advise my friends that, yes, I do indeed have ink for blood – or what passes for ink these days.  Electrons?  Hmmmmm….doesn’t have the same ring to it.  I guess I’ll stick with “ink”.

Motivated by the rumor that someone was trash-talking me because I’m a pagan, I wrote my longest short ever this month.  At almost 4000 words, it’s a tale about how silly a person would have to be to mess with someone they believe is a cauldron-stirring, hex-casting witch.  “The Conjure Woman of Bayou Torte” has been accepted for publication at a new ezine that I hope all of my fellow writers will support with their submissions also.  I love to see these ezines hit the ground running, and I just love the “feel” of  Write-In Magazine.  I’ll keep you posted as to the publication date.

This month I also entered my new novel, The Glendale Witch, into the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award contest.  I thought writing the novel was hard.  Ha.  Writing The Glendale Witch was a walk in the park compared to preparing for the contest.  I needed a 300-word pitch, which is comparable to the best 300 words out of the best query letter you can write.  In addition, I needed a bio, a 300 word description of the novel (which is what I thought the pitch was supposed to be, but apparently I’m confused), personal anecdotes about how and why I wrote this particular novel, plus a specially-formatted excerpt and the manuscript itself.  Frankly, I’m exhausted.

Two pieces of my flash fiction were accepted for publication at Every Day Fiction this month. Fireword ran on Jan. 5th and “The Miracle of St. John” is pending publication. I also have two more stories in slush with them right now, awaiting a decision from the editors. One I’m not terribly hopeful about, but the other I love so much that I find it hard to believe it would be rejected. (Don’t you just love it when you fall in love with your own fiction?)

I also wrote a tear-jerking little piece called “Fancy” that appears here on my blog, and a cynical story about a cynical witch, “The Love Spell” that appears in longer format here on Word Press and in a shorter, flash-fiction format here.

So yes, I’ve been busy.  I hope this is a indication of my creativity for at least the rest of 2010!  It’s very difficult to maintain this level of creative output while working a very busy day job, but I like to think I’m up to the challenge.  I suspect that I have no choice; I must be up to the challenge if I hope to make it as a writer.  I don’t believe doing otherwise is an option.

One Response to “Reaffirming that whole “Ink for Blood” thing”

  1. Mickey Mills Says:

    I would use the word prolific, but I think it would be an understatement.

    Your “Conjure Woman” story is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

