Another Bloody story on Every Day Fiction

March 5, 2010

Last week, the kind editors at Every Day Fiction published another one of my short stories. 

Much to my surprise, it’s been very well received.  Yes, I’m surprised, because quite honestly it’s one of my own least favorite pieces.  Odd, isn’t it, how wrong we can be when judging ourselves?

For the past week The Miracle of St. John has been in the position of “Top Story of All Time” on EDF, which is downright humbling.  Part of me is screaming, “But what about ‘Tears of the Android’ by JR Hume?  And what about ‘Invasion’ by Laura McHale Holland?  And ‘Water’s Edge’ by Sarah Hilary?”  Those are three of my favorite EDF stories to date, far better, IMO, than my own.

So yes, I’m humbled and amazed, but I’m not getting too excited about it because I know there’s always a better story waiting to be told.  When running with a class of writers like those I just mentioned, I expect that to happen any day – and I won’t be a bit surprised or disheartened.  Just being able to say my own name in the same sentence as theirs is hugely gratifying:  Hume, McHale-Holland, Hilary, Blood. 

Dude. 🙂

If you want to check it out, here’s the link to my story:

http://www.everydayfiction.com/the-miracle-of-st-john-by-deborah-winter-blood/

One Response to “Another Bloody story on Every Day Fiction”

  1. Mickey Says:

    You deserve every accolade you get. You are a brilliant writer.

Leave a Reply

