Checking in from the front line

April 30, 2010

It seems like the front line, at any rate. Writing is brutal. Writing is war, I tell ya.

I’ve had two recent acceptances from Every Day Fiction. Stampede, a story that I’m not real crazy about, will run on May 12th. Living Among Us, a story that I LOVE, will run sometime in the future, I assume in June.  I’ve written several other stories that I think are very good lately and hope to hear back about them with acceptances soon.

One of my stories was rejected this month by Everyday Weirdness, which really weirded me out, I’m not sure why.  I like the story, but is it one of my best?  Eh.  And it’s not as if I’ve never been rejected before.  But for some reason I took this one personally.  I consider it a challenge.  Everyday Weirdness, I will soon submit a story that will knock your socks off!  I haven’t written it yet and I have no clue what it will be about, lol…but I love a challenge.

I’m still querying agents for my young adult novel, The Glendale Witch.  I’m only 4 months into a process that I’m told can take a year or more, so I’m not discouraged.  I have plenty of time.

That’s one thing we have plenty of here on the front line:  Time.  Time between publications, time between rejections, time between inspirations.

4 Responses to “Checking in from the front line”

  1. Mickey Says:

    They must really, really like you over at EDF! You almost never get rejected there! 🙂

    Two of my last three have been rejected. 😦


  2. I’ve gotten two rejections from EDF, so you can’t accuse them of favoritism. But then, I didn’t stir the pot either. Hehehehehehe! I love your rebel spirit!

  3. Jackie Says:

    I’m beginning to loathe literary agents.


  4. Hang in there, Jackie! It’s normal for an author to query from 9 to 18 months before finding an agent for a first novel. You’re a great author. You’re so gonna get there.

Leave a Reply

