The TSA Screening Debacle

November 20, 2010

I don’t normally wade too deeply into political issues online where it can come back and bite me in the butt when I least expect it, but I’m willing not only to wade but to dive into topics that I’m passionate about. And I’m passionate about the TSA screening issue.

Is it really just me? Am I the only one who believes that, if flying has really become so dangerous that our Constitutional protection against unreasonable search and seizure is suddenly meaningless, then we’d better not fly at all? If flying is so dangerous that we can blithely kiss our personal liberty good-bye, then shouldn’t we just stay at home?

I don’t believe in conspiracy theories and I certainly don’t believe that the current administration is fascist. In fact, I can only conclude that people who compare Obama to Hilter have never cracked open a history book. But when I look at the personal invasions Americans are suddenly willing to submit to in exchange for the illusion of safety, I do have to raise an eyebrow and take a good hard look at two of our three branches of government. And also at the Americans who, like cattle, are just going along with it.

And for what? What is so precious that reasonable, educated, normal Americans are willing to write off the 4th Amendment? They can’t possibly believe that TSA’s invasive screening procedures will lead to greater safety for travelers. It might deter a nutbag with a bomb in his underwear from time to time, but, make no mistake, a dedicated effort on the part of terrorist organizations will find a way to circumvent the TSA.

And speaking of safety, who in the world ever said that life is safe? I don’t know about anyone else, but I wasn’t handed a written guarantee at birth stating that I’d be safe if I followed all the rules. The same person who submits to a virtual strip search today might choke on a hot dog or get hit by a bus tomorrow. Life is not safe. Perhaps those in insulated communities, communities where you don’t hear gunfire at night and your children never go to bed hungry, perhaps those folks can delude themselves into thinking that life is without risks and thereby put our Constitutional rights at naught.

I’m not one of them.

In less than ten years, first under a Republican administration (the “Patriot Act”) and now under a Democrat, our right to privacy has been chipped away. We’ve been sold a rotten bill of goods, my friends. “Let the government take care of you and you’ll be safe. Let us hold accused terrorists for three to five years, torture them and deny them access to legal representation, and you’ll be safe. Let us force you to take out your prosthetic breast at the airport, Mrs. Cancer Survivor, because you haven’t been through enough already and because you need us to keep you safe.”

I’m sorry, but I’m not buying it. I was born at night, but not last night. I will not sacrifice a single one of my rights as an American citizen just because the government tells me “it’s for my own good”.

6 Responses to “The TSA Screening Debacle”

  1. Mickey Mills Says:

    Not that I think there is any political hanky-panky going on with the decisions on where the TSA is to buy these very expensive nudie scanners.

    http://washingtonexaminer.com/blogs/beltway-confidential/2010/11/nudie-scan-ceo-obama-ally

    Also, billionaire and progressive globalist and frequent white house visitor, George Soros, is a major stockholder in Rapiscan the company providing these scanners.

    I’m sure it’s all just a big coincidence.

  2. Janet Says:

    I certainly agree with you that life is not safe. I read a story today about a man whose urostomy bag’s seal was broken by pat-down procedures. It’s one thing for me to say, hey, I don’t have anything everybody hasn’t seen before so what the hell. Easy to say since I don’t expect to get felt up by a stranger since I’m not likely to have anything that on me that will necessitate an “enhanced pat-down.” But what if I do?

    And what about those for whom the procedures are indeed humiliating and really does count as assault? That’s just so not cool at all. And it doesn’t solve anything…really.

    We’ve known for a while that the TSA has implemented some silly procedures that don’t really buy us anything. So my question is:

    What is the most effective way to stop this insanity?

  3. Janet Says:

    I haven’t properly vetted the sites in this article yet but…it would do more good than the other protest being planned for Wednesday. Gah….

    http://www.suite101.com/content/where-to-protest-airport-full-body-scans-pat-downs-tsa-abuse-a311472

  4. Janet Says:

    Go to http://www.aclu.org/action-center to send a letter to the ever-clueless Janet Napolitano.

  5. Ray Trygstad Says:

    Right with you on this one, Debi.

    Do you know what TSA really stands for? Terminally Stupid Agency. Did you hear about the top two entries in their slogan contest? “You wanna see England? | You wanna see France? | We hafta see | your underpants.” or “TSA: We handle more packages than UPS.”

    NOT looking forward to boarding a plane to fly back to California for Christmas…

Leave a Reply

